Idents and Logos: Producing Our Production Company Ident – 5

In Friday’s Media Studies lesson, I produced an ident for the fictional production company of my group’s 1940s noir film. Although we already have three finished designs for the production company, I feel as though it is better to be prepared and have multiple back-up ident designs for if we come across any problems regarding the use of our chosen one in the post-production stage.

Here is my most recent design for the production company ident:

I produced this design in a very similar manner to the others in that I used some software called Final Cut Pro X. I added a title, from the title feature, that enabled the text to blur into the screen and then blur out. I then added the name of the production company which is ‘Two Tone Pictures’. Afterwards, I added an effect that made the text appear luminous with a slight bit of blur around each of the letters. This gave an effect that I felt was reminiscent of a neon sign that would be placed outside of shops, hotels, bars, and clubs in the 1940s to entice the customers in. Not only will this effect establish the 1940s film noir genre, but it may entice the viewer in to watching the film the same way as a neon sign would. Here are a few pictures of the effect of neon lights in some classic 1940s noir films:

steamworkshop_webupload_previewfile_204189721_preview.jpg

filmnoirwithneon.jpg

DSC_0537.jpg

This effect was made to look even more like a classic neon light when I added the projector effect. Not only did this give the ident an old-fashioned look to it, but it made the text appear as though it were flickering like a neon light may occasionally do.

I am incredibly pleased with this design as it reflects the classic look of a 1940s hotel, club, bar, or shop in terms of the text on the sign. Moreover, it effectively carries the basic information regarding the production company: the name. This was of great importance as displaying the name of the company is the integral function of an ident in a film. However, my group and I will come to decide on an ident from our many designs during the post-production stage as we will be able to identify which one fits the tone of the film the most.

Thank you for reading! 🙂

Leave a comment